PDA

View Full Version : Not working in Chrome


purpleski
09-10-2008, 12:23 PM
In Chrome my installation of the menu is not working on my web site at www.purpleski.com but I can not figure out why.

It works fine in IE7, FF3, Opera, Safari and the markup validates etc.

Can anybody be of any help?

Thank you.

Admin
09-10-2008, 01:12 PM
We are currently evaluating UDM4 in the context of Chrome. Chrome is still a beta release, so we aren't officially supporting it at this point, but there do seem to be several problems with its javascript engine that will need to be addressed in the UDM4 code base.

So far, this seems to be limited to horizontal menus, but we are looking into the issue. If you haven't already, please subscribe to the newsletter for the latest updates.

RJanicek
09-10-2008, 01:46 PM
Where can I subscribe to the newsletter?

purpleski
09-10-2008, 04:24 PM
The demo at http://www.udm4.com/demos/style-officexp.php works fine in Chrome so could it be my implementation of the menu?

Where can I subscribe to the newsletter?

Thank you

Admin
09-10-2008, 06:28 PM
Sorry about that, forgot to post a link to the newsletter signup.

http://www.udm4.com/contact/newsletter/

Admin

ThatAdamGuy
09-12-2008, 09:22 AM
Hi Admin,

This Chrome Bugs page may be of interest:
http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=2081

The relevant part:
The problem is the site tests navigator.vendor for "Apple Computer, Inc."
Chrome now gives "Google Inc."

I recommend modifying the site code to instead test for WebKit in the user agent
string (which is the rendering engine used in both safari and chromium:

var isWebKit = /AppleWebKit/.test(navigator.userAgent);



The specific problem codepath goes like:

****************************
** 1. [udm-contro.js]
****************************
um.s=(navigator.vendor=='Apple Computer, Inc.')

// In chromium, um.s = false, in safari um.s = true

****************************
** 2. [udm-control.js]
****************************
um.ss=(um.cns&&typeof um.m.styleSheets!=um.un&&!(um.s||um.k||um.mx))

// In chromium, um.ss = true, in safari um.ss = false

****************************
** 3. [udm-style.js]
****************************

if(um.ss||um.o73){um.at={'type':'text/css','media':'screen,projection'};um.stn=um.cre
ateElement('html:style',um.at);document.getElement sByTagName('head')[0].appendChild(u
m.stn);

// um.073=0. In chromium um.ss=true so this if block is entered. Whereas in safari
um.ss=false so the block is not entered. The block does some webkit unsupported style
operations which throw DOM exception in both chromium and safari.

Hope this helps you patch stuff up :-)

ThatAdamGuy
09-19-2008, 02:34 AM
A friend of mine, Vinny (http://friendfeed.com/vinoaj) sent me a patched up file. Seems to do the trick!

You're welcome to it here:
http://www.lasnik.net/temp/chrome-update-udm-control.zip, though of course all the usual yadda yadda applies (this is NOT an official fix, use at your own risk, etc.).

BRM Media
09-27-2008, 02:06 PM
A friend of mine, Vinny (http://friendfeed.com/vinoaj) sent me a patched up file. Seems to do the trick!

You're welcome to it here:
http://www.lasnik.net/temp/chrome-update-udm-control.zip, though of course all the usual yadda yadda applies (this is NOT an official fix, use at your own risk, etc.).

I installed the 'patch' and it fixed the problem I was having in Chrome. I use a horizontal menu system (www.bigredmaple.com).

I'm still having issues with the new IE 8 beta.

Thanks

Joe

nziyad
10-06-2008, 09:29 PM
I have found that the "relative" in um.orientation breaks in chrome (udm-custom.js). It was also the setting on bigredapple.com and purpleski.com.


I was not able to download the patch to try it on:

http://www.united.com/page/middlepage/0,6823,1009,00.html

If ThatAdamGuy or someone could post it again I would appreciate it.

Thank you



I changed
udm-control.js
************************************
um.s=(navigator.vendor=='Apple Computer, Inc.')
************************************
TO
************************************
var isWebKit = /AppleWebKit/.test(navigator.userAgent);

um.s=(isWebKit); // 'Google Inc.' or 'Apple Computer, Inc.
************************************


This seems to work well.

Nigel