PDA

View Full Version : Help with IE7 issue pls


nightlrd
11-20-2007, 05:09 PM
trying to set up a UDM menu and everything looks good in FF but when I view in IE7 I get a white line on the right side of the menus in which I have submenus. Help please.

vinyl-junkie
11-20-2007, 11:17 PM
Post a link to your site so we can take a look.

nightlrd
11-29-2007, 07:35 PM
Sorry it took so long for a reply.
link is as follows. page is still under development mind you ;)

http://www.studioampd.com/private/JBA/index.html

thanks for any help or advise.

vinyl-junkie
12-02-2007, 01:34 AM
First of all, it looks you have some things messed up in FF. In FF, your whole page is left justified, whereas it is centered in IE. Also in FF, your navigation menu sits on top of your logo (and the logo is a bit low on the page). To fix these problems, you need to make the following changes to your customstyle.css file (changes highlighted in red):

#container {
width:780px;
vertical-align:middle;
background-color:#FFFFFF;
margin: 0 auto; /* centers the body */
}

and

#navigation {
/* background-color:#FFFFFF; */ /* not needed */
width:760px;
position:relative;
clear: both; /* get the nav bar to go below the logo */
}

These changes will make your page look the same in both FF and IE.

As for your UDM problems, it is because your path to images is specified incorrectly for the directory structure you're using for your site. In udm-custom.js, find the following bit of code:

//path to images folder
um.baseSRC = "/udm-resources/";

Remove the slash at the beginning of your value:

//path to images folder
um.baseSRC = "udm-resources/";

Problem solved!

nightlrd
12-05-2007, 11:04 PM
Thanks for the help. It's realy appreciated.:D

ukweb88
01-07-2008, 06:42 PM
The drop-down menu appears fine in Firefox and other browsers but it is tilted to the right on IE 7. Any help is appreciated.

http://www.ukalumni.net/

Aquitaine
03-04-2008, 05:43 PM
I have this same problem in IE7:

http://dev.inleague.org/inleague/

(only one menu will appear in the not-logged-in screen, but it has this issue).