Old 02-10-2009, 08:06 PM
ludo33 ludo33 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
  #1  
Talking UDM & Drupal

Firstly,

Hello everyone, I'm a new user.

I am looking to use your menu with Drupal 6.9, and was just wondering if anyone can give me any pointers as how to go about this. It is only a test site so no-one's reputation is at stake

I assume I upload the udm4 and udm4-php directories doc root folder and take it from there.

Thanks,

Ludo...

Last edited by ludo33 : 02-10-2009 at 08:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 01:50 PM
Admin
Posts: n/a
  #2  
Default

That's pretty much it. Then you'll need to modify your layout templates to include the files in the right places.

One issue to be aware of is paths. For example, in the udm-custom.js file, there is a reference needed to the udm-resources folder, which by default is set to a relative path

Code:
um.baseSRC = "udm-resources/";
You'll probably need to make that an absolute path, especially if your site uses mod rewrite for SEO purposes.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 11:05 AM
ludo33 ludo33 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
  #3  
Default Oops

Thanks for your reply,

Eh emm...I jumped the gun!

I looked again at the download 3 folders udm4, udm4-asp and udm4-php so I figured the udm4-php was the one I wanted I uploaded the contents to my doc root. When I browse to mysite/template.php I see:

Accessible Website Menu
Ultimate Drop Down Menu 4.51 by Brothercake

No MENU!!!

A bunch of links.

Additionally when I look in the udm-resources folder I don't see a udm-custom.js

PS I can't wait to start working with UDM4 menus, it really is just what I'm looking for!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 12:16 AM
ludo33 ludo33 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
  #4  
Default Got it!

OK, all is working and just used a php include to add template.php to my drupal site! Downloaded the expanding-single.ini file and got that working too!
Thanks to the tutorials on this site.

One more small question though....how to set the width? I see the entries in the expanding-single.ini file:

$um['navbar'] = array(
'0', // nav to menu x-offset (+-)["n" pixels]
'0', // nav to menu y-offset (+-)["n" pixels]
'154px', // width ["em"|"ex"|"px"]

and rather worryingly for me a comment "("%" doesn"t work right)"

My site has fluid width columns, so ideally I want navbar to have 90% width, is there a workaround for this?

Or am I beat?
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:16 PM
Admin
Posts: n/a
  #5  
Default

You could always use external styles to "override" the menu settings.

i.e.

Code:
ul#udm {
    width:90% !important;
}
The reason % "doesn't work right" is because we've found that getting a nice cross-browser solution isn't easy. If you know your visitor traffic, you can use the override method above with out too much worries.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.